CBAA Emerging Educator Teaching Award

Call for Nominations Emerging Educator Teaching Award 

By honoring outstanding educators, the CBAA reaffirms its mission to support the teaching of book arts at the college and university level. With this award, the CBAA seeks to recognize an individual whose accomplishments continue to have a significant impact on the academic pursuit of book art.

The Emerging Educator Teaching Award is granted to an emerging educator who has contributed significantly to the pedagogical development of the field by recognized teaching excellence, demonstrated through innovative teaching practices, high quality student work, papers or presentations at national conferences, and/or other substantial contributions to the education of book artists and the advancement of the field.


  • Nomination by CBAA member (An educator may self-nominate, but the required nomination materials are the same for self-nominations.)
  • Currently teaching full- or part-time at an accredited undergraduate or graduate institution
  • Must be a member of CBAA
  • Completed studies within the last twelve years or began teaching within the past seven years
  • Current members of the CBAA board or the Awards Committee are not eligible for consideration.

Required from the nominator:

Required from the nominee:

Award Determinations & Deadlines:

  • Award determinations will be made by the CBAA Board and announced at the CBAA Biennial Conference in January 2020 in New Orleans, LA.
  • Award Amount: $1,000 (awardee is responsible for conference attendance expenses, including travel, registration, and lodging)

PDF Call for Nominations, click here

Nomination Materials Deadline: June 15, 2019


Emerging Educator Award (Previous Winners):

Karen Carcia (2020)

David Wolske (2018)

Aaron Cohick (2016)

Tatiana Ginsberg (2014)

Macy Chadwick (2012)

Anna Embree & Sara Langworthy (2010)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software